For Reasons Unknown, by Michael Wood

For Reasons Unknown image

Michael Wood’s For Reasons Unknown
Release date: Oct 1, 2015

The Road to Publishing.
Forward by Michael Wood

The road to publishing is incredibly long, full of twists and turns and pot-holes. It’s like driving along a strange road in the middle of nowhere in a mysterious thick fog. That sounds horrible doesn’t it? However, if you believe in your work and you’re determined then it’s also an interesting and wonderful journey.

I have been a huge fan of crime fiction from a very young age and can even remember the first crime novel I read (The Sculptress by Minette Walters). I was hooked from beginning to end and went out to buy the rest of her novels straight away. After reading those I turned to other authors and soon found myself building up an impressive library and a long list of my favourite writers. From then I knew I wanted to be like them. I wanted to create a dark protagonist, a thrilling story and a series people would love.

For Reasons Unknown is not my first novel, though it is the first to see the light of day by the great reading public. The first two I wrote were awful, and I’m embarrassed I actually sent them to agents to seek representation. I like my third and hope one day for it to make it into print. My fourth is the one we’re here talking about. Getting published isn’t easy, but then neither is writing. It’s incredibly time consuming, very hard work, but rewarding when it all works out.

Unfortunately being published once doesn’t mean your second will automatically make it into print. It is very important not to become complacent. I may have reached the end of the road with my first book but I’m on the slip road getting ready to join the road again with my second. The journey is beginning again, and I’m looking forward to it.

Review by Rachelle Bronson

After seeing the excited chatter regarding Michael Wood’s For Reasons Unknown in a nearly continuous loop in my Facebook feed, I decided that it seemed to be the perfect novel to bring me back to The Novel Blog, after a nearly 2 year hiatus.

DCI Matilda Darke is finally back to work after a long leave of absence. Trauma and despair consumed her, but she’s now trying to get her life back. Told that she cannot yet return to her previous duties, she’s instead given a 20 year old, high-profile, cold case to work on.
The Harkess double murder of a couple in their own home, in front of their 11 year old son, baffled authorities and shocked the community. With all leads and suspects having dried up, where can Matilda begin?

When tensions rise within the dept and fresh bodies turn up, new questions slowly intertwine the past and the present, leaving Matilda struggling with her alcoholic tendencies and keeping her job from slipping through her fingers.

As Michael Wood’s debut novel, For Reasons Unknown sets up a series, that is certain to dazzle and entertain for as long as he wants.  It’s fast paced with carefully crafted characters that carry the story along, instead of having those info dumps that are notorious with debut writers. 




The story itself is eerie, consuming and rich with various levels of human behaviour that catch you off guard. I’m impressed at the layers that sucked me in and didn’t allow me to do much else with my day, except read.

I’m waiting with baited breath for the second installment of the DCI Matilda Darke series. Michael?  Bueller?  Anyone?

Leave a Reply

